F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 3-Series Sedan / F32 4-Series Coupe Forum > Any Ideas--New Key
Bimmertech

11-25-2013, 02:36 PM   #1
DJax
Enlisted Member

Drives: 328D, 997

Any Ideas--New Key

Did a forum search but couldn't come up with anything specific...

Purchased a new F30 key (for 2014 328D) from BMW dealership ($290.00 standard 3 button key). Because I didn't have the car with me when I picked up the key, they said:

Do not start the car. Place all other keys out of car's range.

Place new key on dash board and wait two minutes for the key to activate.

Pretty simple!!! Right!...no go...

Any ideas how to get the key to work?

Thanks...

Djax
      11-25-2013, 03:10 PM   #2
dwalls90
Captain

Drives: F30 328i M Sport

I have no experience with this, but there have to be more complicated activation/pairing instructions than this to register the key I would imagine.
      11-25-2013, 03:32 PM   #3
Anodite10
Lieutenant Colonel

Drives: with a seat belt on

Maybe try holding the key against the picture of the key on the steering column?
Anodite10 is offline   South Africa
      11-25-2013, 03:51 PM   #4
tdizzle
Lieutenant Colonel

Drives: 2012 335i Sport

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwalls90 View Post
I have no experience with this, but there have to be more complicated activation/pairing instructions than this to register the key I would imagine.
+1, there has to be something more complicated, unless they did it already.

I'd think it has to be programmed to the VIN or something specific to your car, but not sure they already did that. Otherwise you could do this with your key to any car.
tdizzle is offline   United_States
      11-25-2013, 05:07 PM   #5
raleedy
Lieutenant Colonel

Drives: F10 528i MY 2013

There is an incantation. They should have given to you.