F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Software Update
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-23-2013, 05:04 AM   #1
crazybones
Second Lieutenant
 
crazybones's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport Auto
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK

Posts: 226
iTrader: (0)

Software Update

According to BMW updates, there is a connected drive update now available for cars built Nov 12 - Feb 13. It can be found here after entering your vin:

http://www.bmw.com/update

However, the BMW UK update site shows no updates available!

File name: UPD05004.bin. List of improvements:

Software update (MN-1.23.4,
TN-1.23.2)
Content
> Telephone: Improved Bluetooth connection
stability. Improved transfer of contact data
of the rear-seat telephone. Improved call
lists in China.
> Multimedia: Improved performance with
video display lists with iPOD devices.
Improved music playback and stability with
iPOD devices and large USB devices.
crazybones is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2013, 06:59 AM   #2
RichardM
Major
 
Drives: F31 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Herts UK

Posts: 1,456
iTrader: (1)

I installed it a while ago, didn't notice any difference!
RichardM is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2013, 07:00 AM   #3
Nexstar2011
Private
 
Drives: F31 330d Mineral Grey
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London-ish

Posts: 55
iTrader: (0)

I see the same thing. .co.uk says NO, .com says YES when I enter my VIN. I've also tried and failed (as has the dealer) to upgrade via USB.

When was your car built?? Mine was late Sept, so if the release notes are accurate then the image should not be applicable. Have an ongoing query with the dealer why:

a - TeleServices Software update no longer shows up on the car (greyed out)
b - Software Update on .com says Yes, UK says No.
c - If not applicable, why not?- I want iPhone 5 working better (have experienced crashes and locking up when USB connected).

Seen on other forums that the reason pre-Nov 2012 build isn't applicable for the update is because it fixes bugs introduced in Nov-2012 and onward cars. However, the release notes aren't detailed enough to confirm that...

What's more, when looking at mobile device compatibility check tool on .co.uk, when my VIN is entered the next drop-down box allows you to select which software version - and lo and behold the latest version is selectable (1.23.2)!!

I'm all for self service tools/updates, but would be nice if they actually implemented it right :-/
Nexstar2011 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2013, 08:04 AM   #4
crazybones
Second Lieutenant
 
crazybones's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport Auto
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK

Posts: 226
iTrader: (0)

Initially, my car would not accept the update. I'd start the engine and then Idrive and would insert the USB stick. However, upon selecting update via USB, it would say that the "operation is not available".

It then occurred to me that maybe it was the USB stick at fault. I loaded the bin file onto a USB3 stick which was freshly formatted and repeated the procedure. The car immediately found the update and installed it.
crazybones is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2013, 08:13 AM   #5
crazybones
Second Lieutenant
 
crazybones's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport Auto
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK

Posts: 226
iTrader: (0)

I've gone from 1.022.002 to 1.023.002.

My car was built 7/11/12 and has the new Nav system.
crazybones is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2013, 10:47 AM   #6
derekh929
Captain
 
Drives: F31 330d M Sport on Order
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Scotland

Posts: 791
iTrader: (0)

So can you only update this if you have the full nav and Internet?
derekh929 is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2013, 11:40 AM   #7
crazybones
Second Lieutenant
 
crazybones's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport Auto
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK

Posts: 226
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by derekh929 View Post
So can you only update this if you have the full nav and Internet?
You visit www.bmw.com/update on your pc and download the update file (if applicable) to a USB stick. You then use the update option under settings in Idrive to install the file from the USB stick which you insert in the usb socket in the centre console.

I believe this can be done whether or not you have the nav option.
crazybones is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2013, 03:29 PM   #8
derekh929
Captain
 
Drives: F31 330d M Sport on Order
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Scotland

Posts: 791
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazybones View Post
You visit www.bmw.com/update on your pc and download the update file (if applicable) to a USB stick. You then use the update option under settings in Idrive to install the file from the USB stick which you insert in the usb socket in the centre console.

I believe this can be done whether or not you have the nav option.
Thanks that's very helpfull
derekh929 is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2013, 04:34 PM   #9
Redbaron1973
Private
 
Redbaron1973's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 320D //M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 75
iTrader: (0)

Just updated mine - very pleased with it... now the number in software version has changed... Not sure if I can cope with the excitement!

__________________
________________________________________________
320D //M-Sport Estoril Blue II with Coral Red

ACTIVE CRUISE / ADAPTIVE M SPTS SUSP / HFS / HSWL / HBA / SUN PROTECTION GLASS /INTERNET ACCESS /MOBILE APP PREP /SPD LIMIT DISPLAY / SPRTS GRBX+PADDLES / MEDIA PRO
Redbaron1973 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-28-2013, 02:51 PM   #10
s'M'ooth
New Member
 
s'M'ooth's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 320d ED (For now)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 25
iTrader: (0)

I updated mine, so easy to do, but felt somewhat felt deflated at the end when I noticed it had done nothing!! At least nothing I could see instantly. Oh well, it must be better as the numbers have gone up
s'M'ooth is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 11:36 AM   #11
JOHNBMWM5
Live for today tomorrow never comes
 
JOHNBMWM5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 LCI M5 MCB + Silverstone
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK

Posts: 4,812
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazybones View Post
According to BMW updates, there is a connected drive update now available for cars built Nov 12 - Feb 13. It can be found here after entering your vin:

http://www.bmw.com/update

However, the BMW UK update site shows no updates available!

File name: UPD05004.bin. List of improvements:

Software update (MN-1.23.4,
TN-1.23.2)
Content
> Telephone: Improved Bluetooth connection
stability. Improved transfer of contact data
of the rear-seat telephone. Improved call
lists in China.
> Multimedia: Improved performance with
video display lists with iPOD devices.
Improved music playback and stability with
iPOD devices and large USB devices.
I downloaded it and the car said it was "Incompatable!!!!" even though it was for my car, should I have opened it before connecting the USB?>
__________________
Live for now, life is too short.
2014 Model M5 LCI In MCB with Silverstone.
JOHNBMWM5 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2013, 05:38 AM   #12
crazybones
Second Lieutenant
 
crazybones's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport Auto
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK

Posts: 226
iTrader: (0)

For me, it was more that a case of the numbers going up as multipoint now works. This is a major step forward as previously, even if both phones were connected, I had to switch phones before I could accept an incoming call on the phone that was not connected. Now it works automatically which is great when you have 2 mobiles! A great feature and well done BMW for being one of the only manufacturers I believe to have this functionality.

johnbmw6 - I had issues installing the update at first. However, Idrive told me that the operation was not available. This was resolved by using a different USB stick. The file should be downloaded straight to the USB drive - it does not need to be extracted and should not be in a folder i.e. it should be the only file on the USB drive.
crazybones is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2013, 05:42 AM   #13
JOHNBMWM5
Live for today tomorrow never comes
 
JOHNBMWM5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 LCI M5 MCB + Silverstone
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK

Posts: 4,812
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazybones View Post
For me, it was more that a case of the numbers going up as multipoint now works. This is a major step forward as previously, even if both phones were connected, I had to switch phones before I could accept an incoming call on the phone that was not connected. Now it works automatically which is great when you have 2 mobiles! A great feature and well done BMW for being one of the only manufacturers I believe to have this functionality.

johnbmw6 - I had issues installing the update at first. However, Idrive told me that the operation was not available. This was resolved by using a different USB stick. The file should be downloaded straight to the USB drive - it does not need to be extracted and should not be in a folder i.e. it should be the only file on the USB drive.
Thanks for the Heads up.
__________________
Live for now, life is too short.
2014 Model M5 LCI In MCB with Silverstone.
JOHNBMWM5 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2013, 12:55 PM   #14
sunscreemer
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 320i xDrive M Sport Saloon
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: East Midlands, UK

Posts: 503
iTrader: (0)

Hmmm, if i go to the BMW updates link above and enter my VIN no. it suggests to download an update whereas if i go to the owners section in the BMW UK website > mobile devices > software update and enter my VIN no. there it says no update available I have the latest software???
sunscreemer is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2013, 01:26 PM   #15
JOHNBMWM5
Live for today tomorrow never comes
 
JOHNBMWM5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 LCI M5 MCB + Silverstone
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK

Posts: 4,812
iTrader: (0)

Mine did not work again, downloaded to USB turned ignition on plugged in and it said "No software detected"!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Live for now, life is too short.
2014 Model M5 LCI In MCB with Silverstone.
JOHNBMWM5 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2013, 04:50 PM   #16
Buzzman
Private First Class
 
Buzzman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 335i Sedan Sport
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada

Posts: 148
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbmw6 View Post
Mine did not work again, downloaded to USB turned ignition on plugged in and it said "No software detected"!!!!!!!!!!
I had the same issue/message when downloading on a MAC. Using a PC solved it.
__________________
2012 F30 Melbourne Red 335i Sport Line
2007 E92 Space Grey - Retired
Buzzman is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2013, 05:44 PM   #17
JOHNBMWM5
Live for today tomorrow never comes
 
JOHNBMWM5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 LCI M5 MCB + Silverstone
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK

Posts: 4,812
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzzman View Post
I had the same issue/message when downloading on a MAC. Using a PC solved it.
Ahh I downloaded through a MAC also, I will run it again through windows thanks J.
__________________
Live for now, life is too short.
2014 Model M5 LCI In MCB with Silverstone.
JOHNBMWM5 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2013, 04:49 AM   #18
sunscreemer
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 320i xDrive M Sport Saloon
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: East Midlands, UK

Posts: 503
iTrader: (0)

Is that the actual download on a mac or because the USB stick was mac formatted and not FAT32?
sunscreemer is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2013, 04:55 AM   #19
JOHNBMWM5
Live for today tomorrow never comes
 
JOHNBMWM5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 LCI M5 MCB + Silverstone
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK

Posts: 4,812
iTrader: (0)

Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunscreemer View Post
Is that the actual download on a mac or because the USB stick was mac formatted and not FAT32?
Not sure going to try and load it today from usb.
EDIT: just tried to upload and it said "no software on USB to upload"
So fuck it, it stays as is.
__________________
Live for now, life is too short.
2014 Model M5 LCI In MCB with Silverstone.

Last edited by JOHNBMWM5; 03-06-2013 at 05:08 AM.
JOHNBMWM5 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2013, 05:11 AM   #20
sunscreemer
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 320i xDrive M Sport Saloon
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: East Midlands, UK

Posts: 503
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbmw6 View Post
Not sure going to try and load it today from usb.
EDIT: just tried to upload and it said "no software on USB to upload"
So fuck it, it stays as is.
I may try mine later, but as per my post above i'm a bit confused by one site saying there is an update and the other that there isn't! I have a mac but my USB drive is FAT32.
sunscreemer is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2013, 05:15 AM   #21
JOHNBMWM5
Live for today tomorrow never comes
 
JOHNBMWM5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 LCI M5 MCB + Silverstone
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK

Posts: 4,812
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunscreemer View Post
I may try mine later, but as per my post above i'm a bit confused by one site saying there is an update and the other that there isn't! I have a mac but my USB drive is FAT32.
How can I tell what my USB drive is?. Fat32 or not?. Thanks J
I re-formated it on windows 7 if that helps.
__________________
Live for now, life is too short.
2014 Model M5 LCI In MCB with Silverstone.
JOHNBMWM5 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2013, 05:20 AM   #22
sunscreemer
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 320i xDrive M Sport Saloon
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: East Midlands, UK

Posts: 503
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbmw6 View Post
How can I tell what my USB drive is?. Fat32 or not?. Thanks J
I re-formated it on windows 7 if that helps.
When you go to your disk utility you should be able to choose how you format the disk. That's what happens in the mac and I think for PC too. Rather than right click on the drive then "format" if you go into your disk utility to do it you should get the option (i think).
sunscreemer is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST