F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-20-2013, 03:59 AM   #2179
simonchs
New Member
 
Drives: BMW 118i F20
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 25
iTrader: (0)

i can confirm e-sys 3.18.4 + psdzdata 48.3 + newly purchased token with patch works on my F20
simonchs is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 04:34 AM   #2180
SandmanJK
New Member
 
Drives: 320d
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Moscow

Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by john08135i View Post
I AM GOING TO PULL MY HAIR OUT..

After buying my token and testing by coding one setting.. i had to go back and watch my kids. Well now it wont connect to eh car..
NO ZGW AVAILABLE... i didnt change anything. I just closed esys.

What causes this?
Try switching off/on wifi adapter and ethernet adapter via Device Manager.
SandmanJK is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 07:43 AM   #2181
john08135i
Captain
 
john08135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 M Sport, 2010 bmw S1000RR
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando

Posts: 981
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to john08135i
THANK YOU KON..its fixed.. all set now..
my whole edbias folder was gone.

Extract from installation instruction (from esys 3.18.4)
Run "C:\EDIABAS\Hardware\Ediabas-Konfigurator\Ediabas-Konfigurator.exe" and make sure "Interface:" is set to "INTERFACE=ENET".


Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
I don't have the new token file to try, but are testing the new esys on a machine that never had esys installed... did you have the EDIABAS folder copy to the root directory? All I wanted to know, i long is a long shot, is able to read FA & CAF file since this new machine is desktop and cannot be used for coding at all

Extract from installation instruction (from esys 3.18.4)
Run "C:\EDIABAS\Hardware\Ediabas-Konfigurator\Ediabas-Konfigurator.exe" and make sure "Interface:" is set to "INTERFACE=ENET".

Did you also update the esys program properties to point the token & ods to the right file/directory?


Let's just say you had a bad day.... I do sometime fail to get IP from the car, what I did to make sure I ALWAYS get an ip is start the laptop AFTER the cable is connected to the car & computer, and turn on the car (not start engine)...

CHECK to make sure your computer is receiving an IP with "limited connectivity"

I'll be around for the next few hour... will be heading out to a coding party thereafter, hopefully none of the car will have 505!
__________________
M Sport Line Estoril Blue
john08135i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 08:27 AM   #2182
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 439
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by simonchs View Post
i can confirm e-sys 3.18.4 + psdzdata 48.3 + newly purchased token with patch works on my F20
Quote:
Originally Posted by john08135i View Post
THANK YOU KON..its fixed.. all set now..
my whole edbias folder was gone.

Extract from installation instruction (from esys 3.18.4)
Run "C:\EDIABAS\Hardware\Ediabas-Konfigurator\Ediabas-Konfigurator.exe" and make sure "Interface:" is set to "INTERFACE=ENET".
this is reassuring, will get my token the day the dealer program my car above the dreaded 505, otherwise, no point for me to jump in right yet
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 08:29 AM   #2183
ykau
Private
 
Drives: F30 320I
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Singapore

Posts: 84
iTrader: (0)

yes it works seamlessly. Please do ensure it setup correctly, the computer required a static ip assigned and in this case i issue a class C 24bit network. and also ensure that all connections are disable other than the local connection.

I launched the esys's connection and every time connection established successfully but not sure why ZGW_search.exe not able to dig out the vin number.
ykau is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 08:34 AM   #2184
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 439
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by simonchs View Post
i can confirm e-sys 3.18.4 + psdzdata 48.3 + newly purchased token with patch works on my F20
hmmm 3.18.4? I thought you need to upgrade to 3.22.5?
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 08:40 AM   #2185
john08135i
Captain
 
john08135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 M Sport, 2010 bmw S1000RR
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando

Posts: 981
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to john08135i
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
hmmm 3.18.4? I thought you need to upgrade to 3.22.5?
i had to upgrade to 3.22
__________________
M Sport Line Estoril Blue
john08135i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 11:21 AM   #2186
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,174
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by john08135i View Post
THANK YOU KON..its fixed.. all set now..
my whole edbias folder was gone.

Extract from installation instruction (from esys 3.18.4)
Run "C:\EDIABAS\Hardware\Ediabas-Konfigurator\Ediabas-Konfigurator.exe" and make sure "Interface:" is set to "INTERFACE=ENET".
Errr...what happened to your EDIABAS folder?

It does not uninstall when you remove E-Sys 3.18.4, so did you delete yours?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 11:23 AM   #2187
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,174
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
hmmm 3.18.4? I thought you need to upgrade to 3.22.5?
Quote:
Originally Posted by john08135i View Post
i had to upgrade to 3.22
You can use any version of E-Sys, but the Patch / Token you buy is married to that E-Sys version, so you might as well use the latest version, 3.22.5. While 3.18.4 works today for coding, it can not be used for flashing, and who knows if if will continue to work for coding for the next 12 months.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 11:23 AM   #2188
john08135i
Captain
 
john08135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 M Sport, 2010 bmw S1000RR
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando

Posts: 981
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to john08135i
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Errr...what happened to your EDIABAS folder?

It does not uninstall when you remove E-Sys 3.18.4, so did you delete yours?
I have no idea..
__________________
M Sport Line Estoril Blue
john08135i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 12:02 PM   #2189
SkaTeeB
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 335i MSport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis

Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)

My BMW got new maps and patch from dealer; lost all settings and comings.

Couldn't code so I got new psdzdata, then got the same errors that others got.....but Shawn's help and a patch and token from akiss and all is well again.

Thanks guys!
-Scott
SkaTeeB is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 12:37 PM   #2190
john08135i
Captain
 
john08135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 M Sport, 2010 bmw S1000RR
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando

Posts: 981
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to john08135i
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkaTeeB View Post
My BMW got new maps and patch from dealer; lost all settings and comings.

Couldn't code so I got new psdzdata, then got the same errors that others got.....but Shawn's help and a patch and token from akiss and all is well again.

Thanks guys!
-Scott
funny how it was exactly the same for me.. i am not taking mine in for any more updates for a long time..
__________________
M Sport Line Estoril Blue
john08135i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 12:57 PM   #2191
Frogman
Major
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,467
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ykau View Post
yes it works seamlessly. Please do ensure it setup correctly, the computer required a static ip assigned and in this case i issue a class C 24bit network. and also ensure that all connections are disable other than the local connection.

I launched the esys's connection and every time connection established successfully but not sure why ZGW_search.exe not able to dig out the vin number.
Adding a DHCP server to the laptop should make the connection to the car come up a little faster as I believe the car does try to get an IP from DHCP.

Beware through that if you plug the laptop with the DHCP server enabled into a normal network with other machines on it, you risk creating havoc by having 2 conflicting DHCP servers on the same sub-net.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 02:26 PM   #2192
Raspartan
Captain
 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto

Posts: 683
iTrader: (0)

I was recently updated to integration F020-12-11-505 and now I can't read coding data. Does this mean I need the 48.1 or higher version of the psdzdata files? Shawn, can you pm me a link? Thanks!
Raspartan is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 03:08 PM   #2193
Frogman
Major
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,467
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raspartan View Post
I was recently updated to integration F020-12-11-505 and now I can't read coding data. Does this mean I need the 48.1 or higher version of the psdzdata files? Shawn, can you pm me a link? Thanks!
You need 48.3 plus a new E-Sys token.

start here:

http://www.f30post.com/forums/showpo...postcount=2135
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 03:16 PM   #2194
Raspartan
Captain
 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto

Posts: 683
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
You need 48.3 plus a new E-Sys token.

start here:

http://www.f30post.com/forums/showpo...postcount=2135
Thanks, do you have a download link for 48.3?
Raspartan is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 03:27 PM   #2195
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,174
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raspartan View Post
Thanks, do you have a download link for 48.3?
PM sent.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 03:28 PM   #2196
Frogman
Major
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,467
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raspartan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
You need 48.3 plus a new E-Sys token.

start here:

http://www.f30post.com/forums/showpo...postcount=2135
Thanks, do you have a download link for 48.3?
Unfortunately no, you'll need to get it from the almighty Shawn.

You'll also probably want to get the updated E-sys release 3.22.5 and buy a new token. Shawn can send you all of the details. He's across the pond at the moment, so it may take a while.

Edit: Oops, I was too slow, he already replied. I don't think Shawn actually sleeps.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 04:05 PM   #2197
Raspartan
Captain
 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto

Posts: 683
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
PM sent.
Thanks Shawn!
Raspartan is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 07:45 PM   #2198
Frogman
Major
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,467
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
I upgraded to 3.22.5 (with a new token) and 2.48.3 today and successfully coded an F020_12-11-504 car where it previously failed before with 3.18.4 and 48.3. So I can confirm that the new releases (software and data) can code earlier versions (of course it should have, but you never know...)

I have not seen a car coded with F020_12-11-505 yet, so I have not been able to verify that that works yet, but based on the success reported here, it sounds like there aren't any problems.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 07:48 PM   #2199
Brian55
New Member
 
Drives: '13 335Xi M Sport, '06 911S
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ottawa

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

configuration problem, or 48.3 token issue?

I have the 48.1 data set, and just tried to connect for the first time to my F30 that arrived a couple of weeks ago. The software connects to the car, but I can't read any modules- I get a C060 error. Is this a symptom of the 48.3 and new token issue, or is there something else I should check? I get the same error when trying to read the I-step level, so I don't know how to check that.
Brian55 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 08:10 PM   #2200
Frogman
Major
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,467
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian55 View Post
I have the 48.1 data set, and just tried to connect for the first time to my F30 that arrived a couple of weeks ago. The software connects to the car, but I can't read any modules- I get a C060 error. Is this a symptom of the 48.3 and new token issue, or is there something else I should check? I get the same error when trying to read the I-step level, so I don't know how to check that.
What's the error text for C060? I've only seen that when reading the FA, not any of the ECUs.

Make sure you connecting via the VIN.

Are you able to read the FA?

Does "Read (VCM)" succeed?


The issues with 48.3 were 1) having trouble connecting to the car, and 2) Coding the FDL. I never had an issue reading the ECUs with 48.3. That's all moot as you are using 48.1.

What is your I-Step version? That will tell you what version your car has.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST