F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Updated cheat sheet f30
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-05-2012, 06:46 PM   #23
Frogman
Major
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,468
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilhan1103 View Post
Stock value was 64% it's stated in the column hex std
64 hex is 100 decimal (as in 100%), it's not 64%.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-06-2012, 01:31 AM   #24
ilhan1103
Private First Class
 
ilhan1103's Avatar
 
Drives: f30 318 2012
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 170
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 318D  [0.00]
2010 Golf 1.6  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
64 hex is 100 decimal (as in 100%), it's not 64%.
I could be wrong but i think the comment of that value stated its in percentages and not real hex decimals. I'll check tonight when I have the system with esys available
ilhan1103 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-06-2012, 01:58 AM   #25
Frogman
Major
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,468
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilhan1103 View Post
I could be wrong but i think the comment of that value stated its in percentages and not real hex decimals. I'll check tonight when I have the system with esys available
Yes, the comment says 0 to 100 percent.

Since this is a comment that is meant to be read by a human, it's assumed to be in decimal not hex. When programmers wants to indicate a hex value in comments/documentation, we either write 0x64, or 64h so that there isn't any confusion.

But since you can only enter these kind of values in hex, you have to convert 100 (decimal) to hex (64h) before you enter it.

The value range you can store in these 1-byte variables is from 00h (0) to FFh. (255 decimal).

Storing 99 in the hex value would results in a decimal value of 153; probably not what you want to store the percentage as. I have no idea what the ECU would do with that value.

Make sure you know how to convert between decimal and hex or else you will end up programming the wrong values into the ECU's.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-06-2012, 02:13 AM   #26
ilhan1103
Private First Class
 
ilhan1103's Avatar
 
Drives: f30 318 2012
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 170
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 318D  [0.00]
2010 Golf 1.6  [0.00]
An i thought that for this one it specifically stated its not hex but a % value.

You are probably right, but i find it weird that it has accepted my value of 99 (which translates to 153% as you stated)
ilhan1103 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-06-2012, 03:31 PM   #27
dos1973
Private
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)

Great job illhan....

Maybe you find sometime the code, you remember
instrument cluster lights on all the time, no matter if your 'outsidelights' are on or not.

;-)
dos1973 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-06-2012, 04:59 PM   #28
Puri1
First Lieutenant
 
Puri1's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i 2012
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada

Posts: 337
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilhan1103 View Post
An i thought that for this one it specifically stated its not hex but a % value.

You are probably right, but i find it weird that it has accepted my value of 99 (which translates to 153% as you stated)
So I tried he ambient light coding out last night.. I do believe its in Hex and not %ages. I enetered 99 and when I went back in it said something about unknown value, so I defaulted it back to 64h.

ilhan: there are a few errors on the cheat sheet, could you activate the comments on there so we may comment on certain things?
__________________
2012 F30 328i, Alpine White on Black, Luxury, Premium + Exec. Package...
Puri1 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-06-2012, 07:57 PM   #29
bmw328jc
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 328i Sportline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Miami, FL

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
Can you confirm with "the others" that they got the HUD turn signals working on an F30?

I know it works on F10's, but I have not been able to get it to work on my F30 and I have not seen anyone else get it to work either!
cant get it to work on mine either
bmw328jc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 12:31 AM   #30
ilhan1103
Private First Class
 
ilhan1103's Avatar
 
Drives: f30 318 2012
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 170
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 318D  [0.00]
2010 Golf 1.6  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dos1973 View Post
Great job illhan....

Maybe you find sometime the code, you remember
instrument cluster lights on all the time, no matter if your 'outsidelights' are on or not.

;-)
Instrument cluster is a difficult one, there is some stuff i really want there too, no succes yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puri1 View Post
So I tried he ambient light coding out last night.. I do believe its in Hex and not %ages. I enetered 99 and when I went back in it said something about unknown value, so I defaulted it back to 64h.

ilhan: there are a few errors on the cheat sheet, could you activate the comments on there so we may comment on certain things?
I haven't had time to check yet, but I didn't get any error when I entered 99, heck its set to 99 on my car at the moment.

How do I enable comments?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw328jc View Post
cant get it to work on mine either
I'll move that one to the bottom at unconfirmed then. Did you try both values together?

Last edited by ilhan1103; 12-07-2012 at 12:32 AM. Reason: update
ilhan1103 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 10:34 AM   #31
ilhan1103
Private First Class
 
ilhan1103's Avatar
 
Drives: f30 318 2012
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 170
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 318D  [0.00]
2010 Golf 1.6  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
Yes, the comment says 0 to 100 percent.

Since this is a comment that is meant to be read by a human, it's assumed to be in decimal not hex. When programmers wants to indicate a hex value in comments/documentation, we either write 0x64, or 64h so that there isn't any confusion.

But since you can only enter these kind of values in hex, you have to convert 100 (decimal) to hex (64h) before you enter it.

The value range you can store in these 1-byte variables is from 00h (0) to FFh. (255 decimal).

Storing 99 in the hex value would results in a decimal value of 153; probably not what you want to store the percentage as. I have no idea what the ECU would do with that value.

Make sure you know how to convert between decimal and hex or else you will end up programming the wrong values into the ECU's.


Here you go the comment from that value:

Abhangig von der Farbe der Innenausstattung kann die Helligkeit der Ambienteumfange eingestellt werden.
0: 0%, 100:100%

it specifically states value0 stands for 0% and 100 stands for 100%
Since I'm checking something for Shawn later this evening i'll include this in the test. Lets see how it does at value 0 (eg 0% as per my understanding)
ilhan1103 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 12:22 PM   #32
dos1973
Private
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)

Sorry, maybe i missunderstand, regarding my english.

I have the option with my idrive to set up the ambiente light... Out of the box
I can set to more power light and less power light by the idrive...
dos1973 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 01:05 PM   #33
Frogman
Major
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,468
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dos1973 View Post
Sorry, maybe i missunderstand, regarding my english.

I have the option with my idrive to set up the ambiente light... Out of the box
I can set to more power light and less power light by the idrive...
US cars have it too. The ambient light level can be adjusted via the iDrive in addition to the light level wheel next to the head light switch.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 03:40 PM   #34
bmw328jc
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 328i Sportline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Miami, FL

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilhan1103 View Post

I'll move that one to the bottom at unconfirmed then. Did you try both values together?
I did with no luck. .. this is all over the coding sticky as well and no one can seem to get to it work. It may not even be possible on the F30.
bmw328jc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 04:28 PM   #35
ilhan1103
Private First Class
 
ilhan1103's Avatar
 
Drives: f30 318 2012
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 170
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 318D  [0.00]
2010 Golf 1.6  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw328jc View Post
I did with no luck. .. this is all over the coding sticky as well and no one can seem to get to it work. It may not even be possible on the F30.
It may be just that. Sorry for the confusion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
US cars have it too. The ambient light level can be adjusted via the iDrive in addition to the light level wheel next to the head light switch.
Its stock on all f30's regardless of region I think. I know Shawn didnt have it on his f10 tho (maybe buildyear? ) The options described can a) make it even brighter and b) making it independant of the wheel next to the head light. I found that very usefull as I can get max ambient brightness without getting max instrument brightness.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dos1973 View Post
Sorry, maybe i missunderstand, regarding my english.

I have the option with my idrive to set up the ambiente light... Out of the box
I can set to more power light and less power light by the idrive...
Wass willst du genau? Ich schreibe sheisse auf Deutsch aber kan dich shon verstehen.
ilhan1103 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 04:41 PM   #36
dos1973
Private
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)

[/quote]Wass willst du genau? Ich schreibe sheisse auf Deutsch aber kan dich shon verstehen.[/quote]

nothing at the moment, just reading and try... :-)
dos1973 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 06:13 PM   #37
ilhan1103
Private First Class
 
ilhan1103's Avatar
 
Drives: f30 318 2012
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 170
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 318D  [0.00]
2010 Golf 1.6  [0.00]
Wass willst du genau? Ich schreibe sheisse auf Deutsch aber kan dich shon verstehen.[/quote]

nothing at the moment, just reading and try... :-)[/quote]
Ok
ilhan1103 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 09:09 PM   #38
Tekener
Registered
 
Tekener's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: At home :)

Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilhan1103 View Post
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...EpNWlRiUUJEWGc

If you have anything else that can be added, please let me know in a pm and I'll add it. I'll see if I can find time and convert it to pdf in the future.
Great work, really! I am still scrolling through the list and discovering so many things I always liked - damn, that will be a LONG coding session ...

Unfortunately I can't yet PM you, as I have already some corrections for your list. Guess I will need one more post and wait 2 days before I can ...
Tekener is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2012, 09:26 PM   #39
howiegu
Member
 
howiegu's Avatar
 
Drives: 13' 335xi Msport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New England

Posts: 126
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekener
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilhan1103 View Post
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...EpNWlRiUUJEWGc

If you have anything else that can be added, please let me know in a pm and I'll add it. I'll see if I can find time and convert it to pdf in the future.
Great work, really! I am still scrolling through the list and discovering so many things I always liked - damn, that will be a LONG coding session ...

Unfortunately I can't yet PM you, as I have already some corrections for your list. Guess I will need one more post and wait 2 days before I can ...
Why can't you just post the corrections here?
howiegu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2012, 09:51 PM   #40
nick2013328i
Second Lieutenant
 
nick2013328i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: So CAL, LA

Posts: 217
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by howiegu View Post
Why can't you just post the corrections here?
x2
nick2013328i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2012, 10:47 PM   #41
howiegu
Member
 
howiegu's Avatar
 
Drives: 13' 335xi Msport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New England

Posts: 126
iTrader: (0)

Great update. Many thanks.

Can anyone confirm the trunk close via button and fob working?
The reason I ask was there doesn't appear to be a HKFM module in F30.
howiegu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2012, 01:08 AM   #42
Frogman
Major
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,468
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by howiegu View Post
Great update. Many thanks.

Can anyone confirm the trunk close via button and fob working?
The reason I ask was there doesn't appear to be a HKFM module in F30.
I have never seen an F30 with a motorized trunk lid, so I don't think it's possible.

All I have is a big spring!
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2012, 11:32 AM   #43
Tekener
Registered
 
Tekener's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: At home :)

Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
I have never seen an F30 with a motorized trunk lid, so I don't think it's possible.

All I have is a big spring!
Right, there is no automatic closing for the F30 (just the big spring), however the F31 might offer this option.

The list mainly seems to be a mixture of F10 and F30, where the F10 has the trunk closing possibility and also the night vision, which the F30 doesn't offer.
Tekener is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2012, 12:17 PM   #44
ilhan1103
Private First Class
 
ilhan1103's Avatar
 
Drives: f30 318 2012
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 170
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 318D  [0.00]
2010 Golf 1.6  [0.00]
It says (or should say) this only works if you have the engine thingy. But I'll edit it

Night vision is an option here in belgium for the f30, same for the trunk engine thing but my dealer might have been mistaken in his zeal to sell shit. Most don't know anything here.


Edit: Since neither option is available in the configurator I'm going to assume the dealer was talking out of his behind and the options are simply not there.

Sheet updated with comments f10 only

Last edited by ilhan1103; 12-09-2012 at 02:36 PM.
ilhan1103 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST