F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires > TPMS issue?
Bimmertech
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-04-2012, 11:06 AM   #23
E92-Lighting
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
E92-Lighting's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 LCI Msport 335i AW + CR
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Walnut CA

Posts: 24,687
iTrader: (314)

Send a message via AIM to E92-Lighting Send a message via MSN to E92-Lighting Send a message via Yahoo to E92-Lighting Send a message via Skype™ to E92-Lighting
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariodoceye View Post
Hi. I'm getting my 320d tomorrow with stock 414 17inch wheels with run flats. I already have seen 19s that I want to put on. Can I transfer the TPMS to the new rims and reset them on iDrive?
it will only work if the TPMS was originally from the F30 model, which we carry now, and all of the older BMW models as well. F30 tpms is RDE017
__________________
E92-Lighting is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-04-2012, 07:51 PM   #24
RPM90
Major General
 
Drives: 335i Msport w/sport AT
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago

Posts: 5,953
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
30psi is close to the cutoff for low pressure warning, you may want to run about 33-34psi, since temp will make the pressure change +/-1-2 psi
Does the system actually have a preset low pressure cut off at 30psi?

It makes sense that there would be some level at which the system triggers "too low", I just wonder if it really is 30psi.

From my understanding the reason we can set/reset the TPMS is because drivers can set the air pressure as they need it for either high sustained speed travel, "average" speed travel, or perhaps adjusting it to handling or ride differences. Then, based on the pressure one puts in they reset the TPMS to that psi, which now becomes the set point.
If the pressure drops by a certain psi, then the warning is triggered.
I'm not sure how much drop there needs to be before the warning?
Is it 3psi, 5psi, or more?

So, if you set the TPMS at 32psi, for whatever reason, and it's 70F outside, then the ambient temps drops to 50F, there will be a 2psi drop in cold tire pressure. Normally I don't think that's enough to trigger a warning.
But if the built in nominal is 30F, then there will be a warning.

Interesting that you brought up a nominal preset point for a warning.
Did you read that info somewhere? Could you post a link if you have or remember it?
Thanks.
RPM90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST