F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > My nav sucks. Anyone else?
Scorpp Design
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-20-2012, 01:06 PM   #1
DR.Nefario
Private First Class
 
DR.Nefario's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Dakar Yellow M3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NNJ

Posts: 127
iTrader: (0)

My nav sucks. Anyone else?

I had it say 350+ miles for something >50miles away. Nav was taking me upstate and back lol. Almost everytime it gives me some crazy distance or takes me on the worst possible route. A few times I knew the general area I was going to and would have to drive 90% of the way there and update the nav again before it was correct.
DR.Nefario is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-20-2012, 01:30 PM   #2
ric124
Lieutenant Colonel
 
ric124's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i SP 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 1,549
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by NNJF30 View Post
I had it say 350+ miles for something >50miles away. Nav was taking me upstate and back lol. Almost everytime it gives me some crazy distance or takes me on the worst possible route. A few times I knew the general area I was going to and would have to drive 90% of the way there and update the nav again before it was correct.
Mine works fine but also depends on your nav setting. I think default nav setting is eco mode but I changed mine to fastest plus to work with the RTTM. so directs you around traffic
__________________
Timeline: 335i Sport W/ Adaptive M suspension| Sport Variable steering| Technology PKG| HK Sound PKG| BMW apps| BMW Assist| Sport line hand brake grip| M Performance black kidneys|
ric124 is offline   Jamaica
0
Reply With Quote
      09-20-2012, 01:31 PM   #3
sr5959
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 328i Auto
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Seattle

Posts: 256
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NNJF30 View Post
I had it say 350+ miles for something >50miles away. Nav was taking me upstate and back lol. Almost everytime it gives me some crazy distance or takes me on the worst possible route. A few times I knew the general area I was going to and would have to drive 90% of the way there and update the nav again before it was correct.
Mine has been very accurate in terms of routing so far.
sr5959 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-20-2012, 01:35 PM   #4
batislav
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 335i Sportline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio

Posts: 193
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sr5959 View Post
Mine has been very accurate in terms of routing so far.
Always accurate and routes are efficient.
batislav is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-20-2012, 01:40 PM   #5
DR.Nefario
Private First Class
 
DR.Nefario's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Dakar Yellow M3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NNJ

Posts: 127
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ric124 View Post
Mine works fine but also depends on your nav setting. I think default nav setting is eco mode but I changed mine to fastest plus to work with the RTTM. so directs you around traffic
I didn't realize it was defaulted to eco mode. I'll try changing it. Thanks
DR.Nefario is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-20-2012, 02:31 PM   #6
CurlyFatAngry
Lieutenant
 
CurlyFatAngry's Avatar
 
Drives: his BMW as much as he can !
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Toronto

Posts: 500
iTrader: (0)

It's crap when it comes to routes ... takes my through the worst traffic when I'm close to highways !!

Also bugged by the fact that maps don't show street names properly or at all sometimes. Even major streets, it's like a plate of spaghetti without a single label
__________________
'12 BSM w/ Coral red dakota 328i Sport Line, Premium, 40% tint
'11 Deep Sea Blue E92 335i XDrive, M3 spolier, black grille
'08 Jet Black E92 328xi, Premium, Sport, iPod, Black Grille, GP Thunder, Painted Reflectors
CurlyFatAngry is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      09-20-2012, 02:55 PM   #7
hhuberla
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 335i XDrive (Sport)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CurlyFatAngry View Post
It's crap when it comes to routes ... takes my through the worst traffic when I'm close to highways !!
A lot of nav systems have this problem. This happens because there is, for example, traffic data saying that there is a little traffic on the highway, so the nav looks for other routes. Problem is that a lot of minor roads don't have any traffic data available, so the nav interprets that as no traffic. I've been directe4d to a slow road that runs parallel to I90 which was gridlocked. Imagine my frustration when the highway comes into view and everyone is cruising along at 50mph.

H
hhuberla is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-20-2012, 03:58 PM   #8
Rick4345
Lieutenant
 
Rick4345's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Mineral Gray
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Illinois

Posts: 424
iTrader: (6)

I had used mine on a trip and it bypassed every exit and then route me back to it. My dealer is going to help me out on the update shortly. I would just rather use my Garmin with the lifetime map updates. A lot less costly and it never has steered me wrong.
Rick4345 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-20-2012, 05:01 PM   #9
dzaborn
Private
 
Drives: 2013 BMW 328i F30
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Posts: 89
iTrader: (0)

Can you set the Nav to always route shortest distance (as to not account for traffic data)?

Also, do you get free map/data updates from BMW for the life of your car or lease or do they have to be purchased?
dzaborn is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-20-2012, 05:51 PM   #10
ric124
Lieutenant Colonel
 
ric124's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i SP 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 1,549
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzaborn View Post
Can you set the Nav to always route shortest distance (as to not account for traffic data)?

Also, do you get free map/data updates from BMW for the life of your car or lease or do they have to be purchased?
You have different Nav option from fastest to eco route. you can disable the traffic data too.

dont know about free updates.
__________________
Timeline: 335i Sport W/ Adaptive M suspension| Sport Variable steering| Technology PKG| HK Sound PKG| BMW apps| BMW Assist| Sport line hand brake grip| M Performance black kidneys|
ric124 is offline   Jamaica
0
Reply With Quote
      09-20-2012, 06:52 PM   #11
rbe
New Member
 
Drives: BMW F30, Corvette C5
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States

Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

I like having instructions and speed limit info on the HUD. However, my BMW nav does strange things. I take freeways to the airport. I know the way, just like to use it to see how I am doing on time. When I transition from one freeway to the next, the voice and the screen says to go south. The HUD shows north, which is correct. When I go north the directions continue correctly, it doesn't tell me to make a U turn. I don't know why the screen and HUD show different info. It does that consistently. I have also had it tell me to turn left when I know right turn is correct. Same thing, I turn right and then it continues with the correct instructions.

Also my Garman shows exact replicas of freeway signs at junctions, but the BMW nav just shows a sign that is not a copy of what the sign actually looks like. As was mentioned before, the Garman speaks street names. The Garman cost $179 with bluetooth, free lifetime map updates and real time traffic info. BMW could have done better.
rbe is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-20-2012, 09:32 PM   #12
EnerJi
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: '13 BMW 335i M-Sport EB-II
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Miami Beach

Posts: 238
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbe View Post
I like having instructions and speed limit info on the HUD. However, my BMW nav does strange things. I take freeways to the airport. I know the way, just like to use it to see how I am doing on time. When I transition from one freeway to the next, the voice and the screen says to go south. The HUD shows north, which is correct. When I go north the directions continue correctly, it doesn't tell me to make a U turn. I don't know why the screen and HUD show different info. It does that consistently. I have also had it tell me to turn left when I know right turn is correct. Same thing, I turn right and then it continues with the correct instructions.

Also my Garman shows exact replicas of freeway signs at junctions, but the BMW nav just shows a sign that is not a copy of what the sign actually looks like. As was mentioned before, the Garman speaks street names. The Garman cost $179 with bluetooth, free lifetime map updates and real time traffic info. BMW could have done better.

Perhaps this is why BMW is in the process of rolling out a new nav!
EnerJi is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-21-2012, 08:35 AM   #13
weixp386
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2013 328i Silver Sport 6MT &
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Florida

Posts: 49
iTrader: (0)

I agree... The current nav sucks.
weixp386 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2012, 10:03 AM   #14
adelphi_sky
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 328i Jet Black
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Adelphi, MD

Posts: 374
iTrader: (0)

I had this same issues for a short time but figured it out. Check your route preferences. One time I wanted to find a way to get from one end of D.C. the the other without taking the highway. So, I selected the avoid highways option. Worked fine. BUT, I forgot that I left it on. So, the next time I had to use it and preferred the highway, it kept telling me to get off the highway. You can avoid highways and tolls. There's also fastest and shortest routes. You have to make sure you get the right mix for the trip you are planning or you will probably be taken where you don't want to go. I think the NAV is fine in that eventually, you'll get to your destination. But the nav just gives you 4 different ways to get there.
__________________
------------------------------------
2013 328i M-Sport PCD / Estoril Blue II / Aluminum Hex Trim / Estoril Blue Matt / Black Leather / Tech Pkg / HK / Alarm / Xenons
Current Status: She's Home!
adelphi_sky is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2012, 03:19 PM   #15
Rick4345
Lieutenant
 
Rick4345's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Mineral Gray
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Illinois

Posts: 424
iTrader: (6)

Updates

The updates are not free. I believe around 300 dollars. You can look on the BMW accessories section to make sure. Spend that on a Garmin and the car almost drives itself. I found out when I talked to my dealer about the price. When I bought the car, I didn't want to deal with the CD updates. I have a Garmin with lifetime updates, so the Nav system wasn't a big thrill to me. My CA was understanding the updates were free. I bought one of the first F30s on the lot, so I don't blame him for sure. The dealership has been great. They make up for a lot of stuff BMW doesn't take care of.
Rick4345 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST